Broccoli Salad a la Paula Deen

I had grand plans to blog about the chicken marsala that my Dad made for us yesterday, but there was a little too much chaos in the kitchen! It turns out, Alex made marsala on the same night, so I may try his recipe and compare with the one my Dad makes to see which one I like better. Dad’s will be hard to beat! For one of the sides to go with it, I decided to look up a recipe for the broccoli salad that I really like. I think I’ve made a different recipe every time I’ve made this. I came across Paula Deen’s recipe which calls for cherry tomatoes and I thought it sounded like a nice touch. I love the flavor combination of this salad and it’s quick to mix up. In a medium bowl, mix 1/2 cup chopped red onion, 1/2 cup raisins, 8 ounces sharp Cheddar (cut into very small chunks), and 1/2 cup halved cherry tomatoes.

Image

Cook up about 8 slices of bacon and crumble on top. Cut broccoli head into bite sized florets and put into a large bowl. I took a little shortcut here and bought a bag of fresh broccoli already cut up, so it made it even faster to prepare! Mix up the dressing, which consists of 1 cup of mayonnaise, 1/4 cup of sugar and 2 Tablespoons of vinegar. ONE CUP of mayo you say??? I know… it sounds like a lot. I mixed it up as the recipe says and got away with only adding about 3/4 of the mixture. This is a Paula Deen recipe afterall.

Image

Toss everything together and let it chill in the refrigerator for a least an hour.

It was a great addition to the marsala and oven potatoes we had! This is more of a summer salad, but I could make this anytime of year.

Image

Download full recipe

Leave a Reply

