Chicken Marsala

Here is an easy recipe. This was the first time I’ve made it but wife Tracey has made it before. The first time making something always seems to take me a while. I read and reread each step so as not to miss any detail. Tracey had made this a couple of weeks ago, so I decided that id try it out for the blog. I used a recipe by Tyler Florence.  Here goes……

These are the ingredients. Fortunately I had everything for this recipe except for the mushrooms. Id have liked to have used crimini or porcini mushrooms, but this is all the super had on the shelf. Did I mention this was a last-minute thing. We’d just come back from a day out and had to get kids, wife and friends fed fast.

I took some pretty thick chicken breast and halved them then I flattened them a little more with plastic wrap and a meat hammer.

Coat them in flour that has been seasoned with salt add pepper. “I don’t know where you are from, but my flour don’t come seasoned”

Fry them up in the EVOO till done.

At this time grab an ice-cold Newcastle Ale. For some reason this just seemed to make everything smell and taste awesome. Plus there is nothing else to do while the chicken cooks up.

Remove the chicken from the pan then add the prosciutto and render out some of the fat. Add the mushrooms and cook those down till they are brown and most of the moisture has been cooked out of them. Add salt and pepper to taste. Then pour in the Marsala wine. cook it for a minute to evaporate the alcohol. Add the chicken stock and stir in the butter.

Add the chicken back into the sauce until it is warm. By this time it is smelling really good.

I served it with a good portion of Garlic smashed skin on potatoes. Lots of garlic, lots of butter and lots of sour cream. In the end Ill say I think Tracey’s came out much better. I am going to give this one another try. Next time less salt by way of unsalted butter. It was still good and no leftovers.

2 responses to “Chicken Marsala

  1. Pingback: Broccoli Salad a la Paula Deen |·

  2. Pingback: Steak Marsala |·

Leave a Reply

