Chicken Florentine

This could easily be my favorite meal right now. I’m tempted to make it ALL THE TIME but I wouldn’t want to get tired of it, if that’s even possible!

Alex sent me the recipe for this awhile back and I wanted it every night for a week. It’s one of his wife’s recipes he loves, and I also found the original recipe here. You can’t go wrong with Giada De Laurentiis! Unfortunately, my family didn’t like it. (Are you noticing a trend yet??). Something to do with there being a wine taste and then there was the green spinach. Don’t let my their opinion turn you off though!! I love my family dearly, but they would rather crack open a can of Chef Boyardee than have a pasta dish made from scratch with fresh ingredients. I blame myself for some of this. It wasn’t that long ago that I really didn’t like to cook… so now I’m trying to undo all the damage done in my days of “hurry and get something on the table… ANYTHING”. Oh well… back to the Chicken Florentine. Folks, this may be the best recipe I’ve tried all year! It’s SOOO good.

Before you start anything, you should have your spinach out of the freezer thawing. By the time you finish cooking the chicken, you will want it thawed and squeezed of excess liquid.

You begin by brining the chicken in salt water as usual. This is an extra step I take that’s not in the original recipe. I find this always makes a huge difference in the moistness of the chicken.

Take the chicken out and season with salt and pepper and dredge in flour, shaking off excess. Heat 2 tablespoons of butter in a skillet over medium heat and cook chicken until brown, approximately 5 minutes per side.

Remove chicken and cover with foil to keep warm. Add two more tablespoons of butter to the pan and cook shallots and garlic for about one minute while scraping up all those browned bits on the bottom.

Add 1 1/2 cups of dry white wine, increase heat to medium high, and let it reduce by half (about 3 minutes). Add heavy cream and let sauce reduce by half again stirring often. Stir in the parsley and season the sauce with salt and pepper to taste. Yeah, taste it!! Isn’t that the most yummy sauce ever??

Return chicken to the skillet and turn to coat chicken with sauce. While the chicken is heating back up in the sauce, heat another skillet and drop in 2 tablespoons of butter. Add the spinach and saute until heated through. Season with salt and pepper.

Add some spinach to a plate and a piece of chicken on top. Though not shown in the picture, I like slicing up the chicken as well, so that the sauce coats each bite. Pour sauce over and enjoy!! The combination of chicken, spinach and sauce is heavenly!!!

Though not pictured here, this goes great with smashed potatoes…. because you can pour some more of that heavenly sauce over it! Enjoy!

Download full recipe

Leave a Reply

