Quick Spaghetti

In case anyone thought that because I like to cook, it means that I make crazy gourmet food every night… there could be nothing further from the truth. The fact is, there are nights that I have to throw something together in a hurry. I try and plan for this not to happen, but it’s just life! Anyone with kids knows this… and none of us want our kids to go hungry!

Tonight, I grabbed a packet of spaghetti sauce seasoning out of the pantry. I’ve only ever found this kind at Piggly Wiggly, but it’s the best I’ve found.

Image

I grabbed some already cooked ground beef I had in the freezer, and dumped in a small can of tomato paste, enough water to reach desired thickness, and the seasoning packet. Awesome! The sauce was bubbling on the stove in minutes… now all I had to do was cook the noodles. OOPS… how did I run out of spaghetti noodles??? I pulled out the macaroni noodles and decided to go with it. I even had the Quick Cook ones. Might as well go with with the quick theme! In minutes, I had “spaghetti” for the kids.

The cool part? The fact that it wasn’t spaghetti noodles made it a new dish for the kids. I have no idea why… but they said it tasted better. Also, it was MUCH easier for my two year old to put on a spoon!

I just thought I’d share my shortcut meal with you. I do feel like I’m cheating sometimes, but there are occassions when it’s necessary! I felt a bit better when I grated some fresh parmesan on top. What are your favorite shortcuts??

Leave a Reply

