Chicken and Avocado Enchiladas

I had a very yummy dinner tonight! It was another Pinterest recipe that jumped right off the screen into my hungry tummy and I couldn’t get it made fast enough. Thanks to Gimme Some Oven for this recipe! I really love avocado-anything… so I had high expectations. This one did take me awhile to prepare. It might have had something to do with everything else going on in my kitchen and me taking pictures all the way through, but eventually dinner came together. I did have some shredded chicken in a little bag in my freezer so that was one less thing I had to do. Any kind of pre-cooked chicken would work.

The sauce came together fairly quickly. Start out by melting two tablespoons of butter into a skillet and add in two tablespoons of flour. Let this brown and become bubbly (about three minutes), and then slowly add in your broth, stirring constantly. Bring to a boil, and then let simmer for 5 minutes. Add in sour cream and stir.

Mix cumin, salt, pepper and garlic powder together and add to sauce. Look… I got to to use my little silicone pinch bowl!!

Remove mixture from skillet and pour into a blender. Add avocados, cilantro, and lime juice and blend!

Once sauce is put together, set aside, and begin slicing and chopping vegetable mixture. Slice poblano peppers into thin slices, finely dice jalepeno pepper and slice onions thin.

In a large skillet, heat olive oil over medium-high heat. Add onions and peppers, and saute for 5-6 minutes until the onions are cooked and translucent. Remove from heat.

Assemble enchiladas by drizzling a couple of tablespoons of avocado cream sauce down the center of a tortilla. Layer some pepper and onion mixture, chicken, and monterey jack cheese. Carefully roll up the tortilla and put in a casserole dish, seam side down. Repeat with remaining ingredients and drizzle the about half of the avocado cream sauce over the top and cover with foil.

Bake at 350 for about 20 minutes or until heated through. Serve with additional cream sauce over top and extra sour cream.

I have several different ways I make enchiladas and this one will be added in to my favorites. It had a strong cilantro taste, so depending on if you like or don’t like cilantro, you may want to adjust to your taste. I happen to LOVE cilantro so this was perfect! The sauce was tasty and rich as well and I’m looking forward to leftovers for tomorrow.

Download Full Recipe

Leave a Reply

