Crock Pot Turkey White Bean Pumpkin Chili

Here’s another chili recipe, brought to you this time by one of my favorite bloggers I’ve mentioned before, Gina Homolka from Skinnytaste. It’s gotten chilly here in South Carolina! Chilly for this part of the world anyway. I’ve lived here for 13 years now, and though it doesn’t get as cold as my former hometown in New Brunswick, Canada… I guess I’ve adapted to the warmer climate. To me, it still feels COLD!

This healthy recipe goes over well for my whole family… YAY!!!  If you know me, you know that I love anything pumpkin. Most people think of using pumpkin in desserts and sweet things, but pumpkin is also great in soups and chilis. It’s a great thickener! It was Halloween last night so I wanted to give the kids something warm before sending them out into the FREEZING weather (slight exaggeration).

This was before the wind started picking up, so it really wasn’t too cold when I took this photo. They were all supposed to be saying ARRRRRG.

Begin by cooking up 2 lbs of ground turkey in a skillet, breaking it up into little pieces. Remove the turkey from skillet and put into a crock pot or whatever pot you will be letting your chili simmer in. In this case, I didn’t bother using a crock pot, I just simmered on low for an hour or so. Add a little olive oil to the skillet and toss in chopped onion and garlic. Cook for 3-4 mins and add cumin.

Once this is all mixed in with the onions and garlic, toss into chili pot and add other ingredients.

Mix everything together and add in a couple of bay leaves. Let it simmer for at least an hour on low (the longer the better). Adjust liquid to desired consistency.

Because this was sort of a last minute meal idea, I didn’t have any fresh cilantro on hand… but be sure to top with fresh cilantro, sour cream, cheese, onions or whatever you like! Hope you all had a Happy Halloween! Stay warm!

Also, for those of you counting calories, this chili is 182 calories for one cup (before adding the toppings!)

Download Full Recipe

Leave a Reply

