Cranberry Sauce

Wow, it’s been awhile since you’ve heard from me! Let’s just say things get a little busy this time of year at our house. Its definitely not been for a lack of eating. I’m tapping out this post on my iPhone while we drive to my husbands Grandmothers house. My camera that I usually use for posting pics has died, and so I guess I tend to forget that my iPhone 5 does a pretty good job on photos too. No excuses! Here we go…

Cranberry sauce. Some people love it, some hate it, and some can take or leave it. I always grew up with the canned gel being served alongside the turkey. I’d help myself if the turkey was dry, but really it wasn’t that big of a deal to have it at the table. Half the time, we’d sit down to eat and Mom would say “oh no! I forgot the cranberry sauce!” as it sat on the counter, still in the can.

After trying this homemade version my brother made for us last year, cranberry sauce became way more important to me!! You can pair this sauce with the turkey or just eat it by itself. It’s delicious, not to mention pretty easy (though not as easy as dumping a can into a pot).

Begin by bringing one cup of water and one cup of sugar to a boil until sugar dissolves.

20121122-123528.jpg

Dice up your apple and pear and chop up the fried fruit. I just threw my orange into the blender after making sure the seeds were removed.

20121122-124025.jpg

Once the sugar is dissolved in the water, you can add your cranberries … and everything else for that matter.

20121122-124418.jpgBecause this made a ton, I took out enough for dinner and froze the rest when we do all this again on Christmas morning. Heck I may even have enough left for next year! Happy Thanksgiving everyone. I’m cooking a big meal tomorrow so stay tuned for more of what I have planned.

Download Full Recipe

 

Oh I almost forgot!!! This cranberry sauce is amazing on a baked brie! More on that another time…

Leave a Reply

