Erin’s Thanksgiving Menu

We are still alive! Just too busy eating to blog about it… right Alex?? Trying to find time in this busy season is more difficult than I thought it would be. We went to my husband’s Grandmothers on Thanksgiving Day and then my in-laws visited us for the weekend. I feel like I haven’t celebrated Thanksgiving with a Turkey in a LONG time so I decided to make a meal of my own for all of us – with Turkey of course!! It was still a crazy day, and would you believe that the star of the show (the turkey) didn’t get photographed!?? Yeah… it was tragic.

Here is what was at our table this Thanksgiving. This meal was entirely made up of recipes from Ree Drummond, the Pioneer Woman! I got to watch a little of the Food Network while at the beach ๐Ÿ™‚ Here is the menu with links. I hope you all had a fabulous Thanksgiving and I promise to be back soon to try some new recipes!

Turkey Brine

Green Bean Casserole

Sweet Rosemary Acorn Squash Wedges

Macaroni and Cheese

Mashed Potatoes

Turkey and Gravy

Here’s the turkey (uncooked of course) sitting in the brine in the sink. This was the next day after I took him out of a medium sized cooler packed with ice at the bottom. He was inside a bag soaking in the brine. You have to get creative when brining, unless you just have another refrigerator free!

Here are a few shots of the green bean casserole in progress. This was good but I’m looking for a better recipe. I was trying to find something from scratch that didn’t contain the usual cream of mushroom soup. I’m still looking.

The mac and cheese recipe was a winner. My daughter, Maddy, likes the Kraft-like creamy macaroni and cheese with lots of sauce, while the rest of our family seems to like the kind you bake and it sets up in the oven to cut. I really like both of them but the beauty of this recipe was that it can be made both ways. You make a “roux”, which is essentially a flour/butter/milk sauce, and then add cheese and seasonings to it. You can pour it over cooked noodles and eat it up right then and there, OR you can pour it into a casserole dish and top with more cheese. Either way, it pleased everyone! One note about adding egg into macaroni and cheese that I learned this time around – adding an egg straight to the hot sauce is going to create a weird texture because the heat from the sauce will just scramble the egg. What you need to do is add a little sauce to the egg to warm it up and incorporate the egg slowly into the sauce so it doesn’t scramble it. Try it next time!

The sweet rosemary acorn squash wedges were simply delicious – according to me. I LOVE rosemary, and that combined with the sugar on top of the caramelized squash wedges was divine. I was proud of my father-in-law for trying these. He said he liked it, but I wasn’t totally convinced. I made this in place of the usual sweet potato casserole that I usually make… just to have something a little different.

The mashed potatoes were excellent! I realize there are so many ways to make mashed potatoes, but these turned out perfectly. Adding cream cheese was a nice addition. Maddy and Daniel helped some with the mashing.

Here is the final plate! Remember the cranberry sauce? It was SOO good with the turkey. Frankly, I scooped a bit up with whatever I was putting into my mouth, AND by itself. Good eats!

I also wanted to mention that the next day, there were lots of leftovers.ย  This is my husbands favorite way to eat leftover turkey. He’d never heard of this before having it at my parents house in Canada. Maybe it’s a Canadian thing? Grab a slice of bread (in this case I used homemade, even better!), top with turkey and pour gravy all over. You could top with another slice of bread, and more gravy, but I didn’t need that after the previous day. Yum!

After all that eating, we even managed to get the tree up!

Several years ago, Maddy made a silly paper angel tree topper at her preschool. Ever since then, she has been our little angel at the top of the tree. ๐Ÿ™‚

Now, time to go on a diet before Christmas hits.

Leave a Reply

