Cream Cheese Cranberry Muffins

Have you ever looked in your refrigerator and been at a loss on what to do with half of the things in there that you bought at one time for some reason but you can’t remember? Or all those things that didn’t quite get used up? That’s where this recipe came from. I had about a cup of cranberries sitting in my fridge from Thanksgiving. Yes you read that right, THANKSGIVING! Those berries keep forever!! I’ve really been trying to use up things I have already and not waste so much food. I’m really bad about putting away leftovers to never touch them again. I did a quick search for a cranberry muffin recipe and chose the first one I could find where I knew I had all the ingredients.

I was also looking for a good excuse to break in my new Breville stand mixer! Begin by creaming together the butter, cream cheese, and sugar until fluffy. Add eggs one at a time until mixed in. Then mix together flour, baking powder and salt in a separate bowl.

creamcheesecran1
Add flour to wet ingredients and mix until everything is moistened. Stir in cranberries and chopped pecans. This recipe calls for 2 cups of cranberries and I only had one. I figured to make them stretch a little further, I’d cut them up. I think this would probably be a good idea anyway. Cranberries are pretty tart on their own. This was the most time consuming part, but worth it in the end.

creamcheesecran2

Bake at 350 for about 20-25 minutes. The recipe also calls for “drizzle” which I decided to omit. After putting all the butter and cream cheese in, I figured this didn’t need anything extra. I was right… they were fine as is! But feel free to make the drizzle… I’m sure it wouldn’t hurt whatsoever.

creamcheesecran3
Now enjoy with your favorite warm morning drink. These will freeze well also, but I’m not sure they will last that long here. Now what else can I use up that’s in my fridge?

creamcheesecran4

Download Full Recipe

Leave a Reply

