Blackened Salmon

Here’s a REALLY simple one for a hectic evening. Bet you were wondering if we’d ever post again. I can’t speak for Alex but I’ve got some recipes to share. Actually sharing them is the hard part it seems these days. Hopefully you’re still with us!

Here’s to a delicious throw together meal that only takes about 15 minutes. This doesn’t include whatever sides you want to serve with this obviously, but it’s great with just about anything. I like having this with homemade cornbread, something green like asparagus, and corn or potatoes. I decided to go with this recipe from allrecipes because it had great reviews.

I always try and use fresh salmon. Frozen is still ok, but to me it isn’t quite as good after it.s frozen for some reason. Also, I always try and get the kind with the skin still on one side. After you blacken one side, you finish cooking on the other side. This way, you don’t need to worry so much if the skin gets a little crispy.

Begin by mixing up the blackening spices. Essentially this is a Cajun seasoning mix so you could use any Cajun spice but I like mixing my own.

2 tablespoons ground paprika
1 tablespoon ground cayenne pepper
1 tablespoon onion powder
2 teaspoons salt
1/2 teaspoon ground white pepper
1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
1/4 teaspoon dried basil
1/4 teaspoon dried oregano

20130313-091005.jpg
Cut filet into single serving pieces like so and generously coat one side with the seasoning.

20130310-154648.jpg

I use my cast iron skillet for this. Heat to medium and add olive oil. When oil begins to smoke, turn the heat off and place the fish seasoning side down in the pan. Turn the pan back on medium end let the fish blacken for 3-4 minutes.

20130313-093505.jpg

Turn the fish over, drizzle with melted butter and cook skin side down until fish is cooked through, approximately 5-6 minutes. That’s IT!! I like squeezing some lemon juice over it once on my plate. Even though its a little spicy, the kids all devour this. If you are concerned about spicyness, you can cut back a bit on the cayenne pepper.

20130313-092234.jpg

Leave a Reply

