Tomato Basil Chicken Pasta

This blog isn’t dead yet is it? Hello? Anyone out there? Lets try and revive this thing! Alex?? He probably won’t reply at the moment because he’s busy having fun at Virginia Beach on vacation. However, on his way through South Carolina, we had the pleasure of meeting him in person for the first time ever! He had three of this four little ladies with him. What a brave Dad! We had total failure of getting a good photo of us together, but I guess that happens when you have 5 little girls and one little man running around. We met for lunch at Redbone Alley in Florence. It ended up being the perfect meeting place. The restaurant is huge, with two levels and feels like you are in a town courtyard. After the kids were done eating, the waiter pointed to a hollowed out ice cream truck parked inside the restaurant with a cooler and ice cream and popsicles inside. He said the kids could help themselves to the ice cream. We sort of just let them loose to explore the restaurant game area upstairs and eat ice cream… what kid wouldn’t love that???

Photo Jul 03, 2 55 59 PM 580214_10151680698639373_866290948_n

Anyway, while Alex is off having fun… I have committed to posting more to this blog starting today. I saw this recipe on Pinterest (where I find most of my recipes) and KNEW this would be a good one. It led to a really nice food blog Menu Musings of a Modern American Mom. I’ve bookmarked it and will be going back to check out more recipes from there. If you’re a busy family who needs dinner on the table in a hurry but don’t want to sacrifice food quality, this blog looks like a good one!

It came together quickly once I had the basil and tomatoes chopped.

IMG_9076 IMG_9074

Begin by heating up 2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil in a pan. Once it is nice and hot, take two chicken breasts that have been seasoned with salt and pepper and place them in the pan. I also pounded them a bit so the breasts were uniform thickness and would cook a little more evenly.

IMG_9082 IMG_9083

Cook them about 4-5 minutes on either side, and then add fresh tomatoes, basil ribbons, cold butter and garlic. Taste it… good right? You may want to add a little more salt and pepper to taste at this point.

IMG_9088

I forgot to mention you should have some pasta already cooking and almost done. I would have used fettuccine if I had it on hand, but I used spaghetti instead.

IMG_9089

This makes 4 servings so divide pasta between 4 bowls, top with an equal amount of sauce and half of a chicken breast cut into pieces. Add some extra basil and Parmigiana Reggiano cheese on top.

I was so pleased to find how much I loved this. There are a few good jar sauces on the market, but for those wanting to try their own sauce, it doesn’t have to be complicated or take a long time. I think when most people think of a good pasta sauce, they imagine it cooking all day, getting really thick and coating every noodle. If it doesn’t it must be watered down. Not the case here! This sauce isn’t thick and doesn’t coat every noodle like that sticky canned Chef Boyardee stuff (bleh, what IS that anyway?), but is FULL of flavor and tastes fresh and amazing. I will definitely be making this again… this is going straight to my Paprika app!

My family had already eaten leftovers for dinner when I made this but just as I suspected, they were turned off of the fresh chunks of tomatoes and basil. I guess they would prefer Prego (what WILL I do with them??) I managed to get Jordan to take a bite however, and she said she liked it, so she and I will indulge on leftovers of this tonight!

Download Full Recipe

4 responses to “Tomato Basil Chicken Pasta

  1. Yum! I am going to make this tonight with fresh basil and tomatoes from my garden! Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

