Chili Lime Roasted Chickpeas

Here’s a simple healthy snack that was very easy to prepare. Chickpeas, aka Garbanzo beans are delicious puréed for hummus. That’s pretty much my only experience with chickpeas until today when I realized they could also be a yummy crispy snack. This was the first time I’ve made these and I was really glad I tried them.

I found the original recipe here. Preheat oven to 400 and open a can of garbanzo beans. They are already cooked in the can but you could prepare dried beans in your slow cooker or on the stove. I decided to use the canned beans I had. There wasn’t anything else added in the can besides water anyway so I didn’t see a need to make them from scratch.

20130717-214544.jpg
Mix oil, salt and seasonings in with the beans and toss around to coat them evenly.

20130717-215534.jpg
Spread them out on a cookie sheet and put into the preheated 400 degree oven.

20130717-215451.jpg
Bake for 25 minutes. Remove from oven and give them a stir. Continue baking for 10-15 more minutes or until they are crispy.

20130717-215946.jpg
Let them cool and begin snacking! I ate the whole can. I can see all kinds of possibilities with these and different seasonings. Share your ideas with us!

Download Full Recipe

Leave a Reply

