Carne Asada and Grilled Fish Tacos

Over the past few months I’ve been eating a lot of food truck tacos and grilled fish tacos at restaurants. They seem easy to make and delicious. I had planned on doing the grilling part outside on a charcoal grill. Last minute change in plans. It started to rain and wasn’t letting up. I decided to use my newly acquired indoor griddle/grill for the task. I wasn’t sure if it would get hot enough to cook the meats. It worked perfectly. I used skirt steak and tilapia. The skirt steak I marinated for a few hours.

20130903-110313.jpgI used a foodsaver bag. Sealed the steak and marinade inside and let it sit for a few hours. The fish I just put in a glass dish for about 20 minutes with the marinade.

20130903-110547.jpg

Once they were cooked I just warmed the tortillas on the hot grill and assembled.20130903-105851.jpg20130903-105830.jpg

20130903-110758.jpg

The steak taco I added cilantro, finely diced red onion and a little bit of the green chile salsa. The fish taco got shredded cabbage, thin sliced red onion, tomato salsa and some crema in place of the usual sour cream. I’ll be making these again for sure. Really you can add whatever you want to them. Try them out. Experiment a little.

Steak Marinade and Seasoning:

Juice from 3 Fresh Squeezed Limes

Juice from a Medium Orange

3 Finely minced garlic cloves

Salt and Pepper to taste

Fish Marinade:

Juice of 2 fresh squeezed limes

1 garlic clove finely chopped

1/4 teaspoon of chili powder

2 tablespoons of vegetable oil

Kosher Salt

Leave a Reply

